Helena Deland Announces Debut Album Someone New, Shares Title Track

Music News Helena Deland
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Helena Deland Announces Debut Album Someone New, Shares Title Track

Montreal singer/songwriter Helena Deland has announced her debut album, Someone New. The record is set for release on Oct. 16 via Luminelle Recordings. While this is Deland’s first album, she’s already carved out a name for herself with a well-received series of EPs in 2018, collectively titled Altogether Unaccompanied, alongside her collaborations with artists such as Weyes Blood, Connan Mockasin and JPEGMAFIA.

“‘Someone New’ is about paradoxically feeling sick of and unfamiliar with myself,” Deland said in a statement, speaking on the project of her album as a whole. “ I realized that I associated primarily with what others (real or imagined) projected onto me, and acted in ways to avoid disappointing this projection or imagined expectation. The quest to please and conform distracted me from who I already was and I laboured to comply to a normative set of expectations.”

Deland shared the LP’s title track to accompany the announcement. Opening to an ominous swell of synths, the song slowly unfolds, with one musical element building on top of another to create a rich arrangement of understated melancholia.

Per a press release, Deland said the song “is about the validation and relief from one’s internal world that a romantic encounter can offer, but also about becoming aware that there seems to be an expiry date on that type of opportunity for women.”

Check out the song’s video below, and scroll down to view the album artwork and tracklist. Preorder Someone New here.

Someone New Album Artwork:


Someone New Tracklist:

01. Someone New
02. Truth Nugget
03. Dog
04. Fruit Pit
05. Pale
06. Comfort, Edge
07. The Walk Home
08. Seven Hours
09. Smoking at the Gas Station
10. Lylz
11. Mid-Practice
12. Clown Neutral
13. Fill the Rooms